Art Diary of an Eternal Student

« on: Jun 05, 2015, 11:30 AM »
This is going to be were I put some arts. These are random pieces, but they are all reflective of my current art skill level - so none of my old stuff is here (that would be too embarrassing). Slowly but surely, I will continue to make more and more art pieces. I'm open to critiques and new ideas. Eventually, I'm gonna submit a character here, but that won't be until a good while. Need to plan some more...

I am primarily self-taught, I only took one art class at community college- Intro to drawing...just thought I'd through that out there.

Re: Art Diary of an Eternal Student
« Reply #1 on: Jun 05, 2015, 11:33 AM »

Just made this today... I am very proud.

« Reply #2 on: Jun 05, 2015, 11:36 AM »

This here is a fully body shot of an anthropologist character. Right now he has no personality though, I might further develop him.

« Reply #3 on: Jun 06, 2015, 03:34 AM »
I hope what I say next won't discourage you in any way, but I really want to ask a few things.

What program do you use? I mainly ask because from these two drawings you decided to show us, I see no pressure sensitivity. Did you use a mouse to draw these? It isn't really a problem, I just think it would be wise to get a tablet. But again, that is up to you and how you want to work on your drawings.

2nd, and this really should have nothing to do with the Art Program. It's more of a huge nitpick to me: You color out of the lines of the character, or don't fully color it. Especially on the first picture. Why?
The second picture looks better, 'cept one arm is bigger than the other. I could make a masturbation joke, but perhaps it is too soon to go into those

Even if you claim you only took a single class, that shouldn't stop you from looking for Tutorials at deviantART, or tumblr, or any art site of your preference, especially if you recognize yourself as self taught
Keep it up, looking forward to see more of you. :)