NYCC: A Review

NYCC: A Review
« on: Nov 02, 2012, 11:14 PM »
NYCC 2012: A Review

Introduction

• Or Wow The NYCC is Pretty Cool

So I sit here still flush from the furious action and excitement of the New York Comic Con 2012 just a mere couple of days after it has ended.  I am still fairly new to the convention circuit; the etiquette and subculture that permeates it is something I’m also recently learning.  Yet because I’m a newbie I feel that there is some value in the experiences I have partaken and so I write this article with the hope that what I have experienced will be of benefit to those who have not gone or cannot go.

Let us be clear from the get-go though.  If you ever have the opportunity to go to one of these big conventions then do it.  The NYCC touts itself as one of the largest on the coast as an all encompassing beast that swallows up comic, anime, figure, and videogame fan alike.  Truth be told, aside from the usual paraphernalia of imported figures, models and posters I did not feel much of the anime/manga crowd as being a definitive presence or at least not as strongly as the highly visible videogame and comic booths.  As a fan of all of these things, I wasn’t much bothered by it but I wonder how fulfilling this convention was for particular fans?

There were minor annoyances such as the confusing layout, the massive crowds and ignorant staff.  The convention had a barely functioning app and I survived by having the very handy program which included a map for convenience.  The best advice I can give is to be prepared for much walking and to carry some refreshment on you.  If anything knowledge is power and it’ll work in your favor to familiarize yourself with the layout of a convention immediately and have working guides handy.

The Comic Book Professional and You

• Or How Not to Stare at Someone You’ve Met For the First Time